The Radio Years 1940




This music chronicles Coleman Hawkins' short lived career as a big band leader, which lasted for less than one year during 1940. The music is comprised of two NCB radio broadcasts made during a twelve week engagement at the Savoy Ball room. It's a mixture of standards, lesser- known popular tunes of the day some rarities (like "Asleep In the Deep" written in 1897!), plus one Hawkins original, all with surprisingly good sound quality Hawkins' big band sounds good smooth and conventional.

Tommy Stevenson, Joe Guy, Tommy Lindsay trumpets, Nelson Bryant trumpet & vocal, Sandy Williams, Claude Jones, Billy Kato trombones, Eustis Moore, Lawrence "Jackie" Fields alto saxes, Ernie Powel alto sax & clarinet Kermit Scott, Coleman Hawkins tenor saxes -Gene Rodgers piano, Gene Fields guitar, Bily Taylor string bass – J.C. Heard rums & vocal, Gladys Madden vocal

Body and Soul
I Can’t Love You Anymore
Sweet Adeline
The Breeze and I
It’s a Wonderful World
The Sheik of Araby
The Man I Love
Body and Soul
Chant of the Groove
Forgive a Fool
Asleep in the Deep
Can’t Get Indiana off My Mind
Passin’ It Around
When a Congressman Meets a Senator Down South
I Can’t Believe That You’re in Love With Me

No review info available