Avada Classic Shop

A Beautiful Blue Moment

Carsten Dahl takes you on a once in a lifetime jazz voyage




The Danish piano auteur Carsten Dahl and the dynamic American trumpetist Tim Hagans meet the acclaimed Swedish double bass player Johnny Åman and the Finnish master drummer Jukkis Uotila on the new album A Beautiful Blue Moment.


Actually, this rare quartet had never played together, before they gathered at the scene of the historic jazz club Montmartre in Copenhagen and played the music of the moment at three sold out evenings in August 2021. Quite the moment indeed!


The quartet mainly played free music with an original searching idea of being composing musicians and playing composers, who constantly found new horizontal and vertical directions in music. The original idea for the quartet arose, when Dahl and Hagans taught together at a jazz college in 2019, and realized that they shared musical understanding, humour, fervour and curiosity, when it comes to exploring the essence of music creation. They have been close friends ever since.


Dahl, Uotila and Åman had their very first musical encounter at Montmartre, but it turned out to be a truly magical and flying journey. The combination of the four musicians is simply an explosive, poetic and ground-breaking meeting, where their common breathing in music is free, effortless and at the same time linked to their great habitus in tradition and in the many expressions of jazz music.


After three great evenings, where musical sparks flew in abundance, the four musicians went directly in the studio for a 6 hours spontaneous recording session. The result is a once in a lifetime jazz voyage, so fasten your seatbelt and get ready for a ride!

Carsten Dahl – piano

Tim Hagans – trumpet

Johnny Åman – double bass

Jukkis Uotila – drums


1. Old Voyage
2. A Beautiful Blue Moment
3. A Whole Lot of Halfnotes
4. Ugly Transitions
5. The Starring Tim
6. Monk – Keys
7. Behind Silence
8. New Voyage
9. A Beautiful Moment

“Da jeg satte på denne platen første gang, ble jeg overrasket og glad over at denne gjengen hadde funnet sammen om musikk som jeg regner kommer fra jazzens gullalder (…) Alle fire musikerne er ytterst dyktige og kreative…” – Granlie, Salt Peanuts*


“Dahl has appeared on some 300 albums. Here, in what is one of his most vibrant and arresting releases to date, he heads up a freely and finely woven collaborative session of original pieces…” – Tucker, JazzJournal


“The spontaneous nature of these performances is evident…drawing the listener deep into their essence.” – Dryden, The New York City Jazz Record


Go to Top