Avada Classic Shop

Bird with Strings…and More!

Jazz giant Phil Woods reinterprets Charlie Parker in spectacular fashion



The recording of Bird with Strings…and More! took place in Tonhalle, Zürich on June 13, 2005 with the help of pianist Ben Aronov, bassist Reggie Johnson, drummer Douglas Sides and the fantastic Zürich Chamber Orchestra. The beautiful and characteristic sound of jazz and pop supported by a string orchestra is a very special and rare experience.


Bird with Strings…and More! use the classic album Charlie Parker with Strings as a point of departure. Charlie Parker, also known as Bird, recorded the original Charlie Parker with Strings in 1949 with a rhythm section plus a very small string section.


On this recording, PW has written all new arrangements based on the original scores, and expanded the original arrangements to a much larger string section of 24/30 pieces and added a small woodwind section of oboe, flute and clarinet. PW has also proceeded to write a dozen extra arrangements with the same instrumentation. He pays perfect tribute to Bird and his original project, as he is the continuator of Bird’s music, spirit and life, but has his very own sound signature, sometimes warm and sometimes volcanic.


PW was not only an extraordinary alto saxophonist, but also an incredible composer and arranger. Woods was known for a lyrical and beautiful sound making him one of the most popular musicians in mainstream jazz. Born in 1952, he was influenced by Charlie Parker and Lennie Tristano, but worked in both jazz and pop influencing artists like Kenny G and a whole generation
of alto played in jazz. Today he is considered a modern jazz giant and one of the most important alto saxophonists in the history of jazz.


This is emotional music for lovers, so savor the moment and relax in the company of one of the true masters!

Phil Woods – saxophone

Ben Aronov – piano

Reggie Johnson – bass

Douglas Sides – drums

Zürich Chamber Orchestra


  1. Just Friends
  2. Everything Happens To Me
  3. April in Paris
  4. Imitating Charlie Parker
  5. Solitude
  6. Presenting the Band
  7. You Go To My Head
  8. Meeting Charlie Parker
  9. The Thrill is Gone
  10. Willow Weep for Me


  1. All Things You Are
  2. I’ll Remember April
  3. Easy to Love
  4. And When We’re Young
  5. The Best Things For You Is Me / How Deep is the Ocean
  6. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  7. Repetition
  8. The Midnight Sun Will Never Set
  9. Rocker
  10. Temptation

“…en af sin generations helt store komponister og alt-saxofonister. (…) …helt sin egen, en efterspurgt og afholdt musiker takket være hans lyrisk smukke klang og hans sans for det melodiske. (…) arven efter Parker fik nye gevandter og en varmere glød.” – Rod, ivanrod.dk


“…a full backing that really seems to inspire Woods towards some of his best work of the period…” – Dusty Grooves


“Charlie Parker var et geni og Phil Woods var en gigant. Her “møtes” de to og du verden for et møte for historiebøkene det har blitt.” – Hammerø, nettavisen.no


“Phil Woods er ikke Charlie Parker genfødt. Intoneringen er blød og rundere, men figurerne og hele Parkers melodiske metode er intakt som hos ingen anden…” – Wolsgaard-Iversen, JazzSpecial


“The sounds are still fresh, and like all good wines, get better with age.” – Harris, JazzWeekly


“…det låter alldeles fantastiskt fint! Phil spelar grandiost och stråkarna, kompletterade med valthorn och oboe, klingar utsökt. (…) Nära två timmars oavbruten njutning alltså.” – Olsson, Skånska Dagbladet





Go to Top