Avada Classic Shop


A tribute to John Coltrane’s timeless legacy




American drummer Brian Melvin and Danish guitarist Søren Lee spearhead a brand new trio alongside Danish organist Mads Søndergaard. The trio release their brand new tribute album to the legendary John Coltrane, Tranesformation.


Tranesformation pays homage to the revered John Coltrane, a trailblazing figure in the world of jazz. Drawing from Coltrane’s legacy and weaving their own interpretations, Brian Melvin, Søren Lee and Mads Søndergaard invite audiences to join them on an exciting musical voyage.


This recording, consisting of 15 tracks, is a dynamic collaboration that promises to reignite the essence of Coltrane’s music, fusing it with their unique artistic perspectives. United by their immense passion for jazz and their impressive individual careers, Brian Melvin, Søren Lee and Mads Søndergaard have forged a bond that now forms the heart of the exceptional trio. Having captivated audiences across the world, each musician brings their distinct expertise and creative spirit to this project, creating a blend of talents that promises to deliver a fresh, exciting sound to the jazz community.


Brian Melvin’s impressive background includes collaborations with luminary bassist Jaco Pastorius, renowned saxophonist Joe Hendersen and guitar virtuoso John Scofield. His accolades are not only musical, but also historical, as his album Standards Zone soared to the #1 spot on the charts for 13 consecutive weeks, earning a well deserved place in the Jazz Hall of Fame in the US.


Søren Lee, recognized for his impeccable guitar work and deep musical sensibilities, has left an indelible mark on the jazz scene. Having shared the stage with legends like bassist Ray Brown and guitarist Jim Hall, Lee’s contributions to the international jazz repertoire have garnered critical acclaim. His trio recordings have been described as ‘outstanding’ by none other than the iconic Jim Hall, while pianist and organist Larry Golding hails Lee as ‘a deeply soulful player’.


Mads Søndergaard, Denmark’s premier organist, is celebrated for his extraordinary musical prowess and collaborations with top-tier jazz musicians across Europe. With a reputation that precedes him, Søndergaard’s presence adds a new dimension to the trio’s sound, promising an unmatched listening experience.


Fresh off their performances in New York, Denmark and Estonia, the trio’s fans can expect a riveting series of performances in Europe and beyond throughout 2023/24. With their shared vision and collective dedication to the art form, Brian Melvin, Søren Lee and Mads Søndergaard are poised to make an indelible mark on the jazz landscape with Tranesformation!

Brian Melvin – Drums

Søren Lee – Guitarist

Mads Søndergaard – Organ

  1. Naima
  2. My Favorite Things
  3. Impressions
  4. It’s Easy To Remember
  5. Spiral
  6. Cousin Mary
  7. Afro Blue
  8. Body And Soul
  9. Summertime
  10. Miles Mode
  11. I’ll Wait And Pray
  12. Inch Worm
  13. M-Elvin
  14. Dahomey Dance
  15. Count Down
No review info available


Go to Top